top of page
Search
Writer's pictureUjwal Amin

Trek to Visapur Fort and Lohagad

Updated: Sep 28, 2020

This is my 1st trekking blog and was also my first trek , so I am sharing my experience and also some information on the following forts. Reaching the base village of Visapur is not that hard for people living in Mumbai as you can reach here directly by train , all you have to do is board any express going towards Pune take a stop at Lonavala , change train to Malavli station and then its walking distance to the base village 'Patan Village'.




Above are some pictures of the railway station and some scenery , the best time to visit this place is in monsoon but at the same time it is very hard to climb this fort , as after some time you have to climb through waterfall , speaking from my trip I was lucky to complete it as my 1st trek as the force of waterfall was not that high but while returning the flow of waterfall increased and many people coming up were not able to complete the trek , but once completed the view from the top of the fort is soo good especially in monsoon.


I think the time for completing Visapur would be around 2 to 3 hours , still the trek is not at all tiring after completing the climbing the descending part was considerably hard as there was no grip due to the slippery conditions by constant rain.

One can start ascending the Lohagad fort once Visapur is complete as its one of the most simplest climbs.

The climb for Lohagad fort is simple , from the base of the fort to the top there are steps also you will find many people here as its very simple and any one can complete it .

Lohagad fort is well built , but the fort structure of Visapur fort is almost destroyed due to weather conditions.

This was my 1st trek and one of the best experiences of my life .

Also keep visiting as I will be writing more such blogs in the coming future....




53 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page